Board elects leaders, appoints Khawaja interim prez; Anderson suite named

June 17, 2013  |  
Sudershan Garg

Sudershan Garg

The YSU Board of Trustees re-elected Sudershan Garg as chair for the 2013-14 academic year. John Jakubek will serve another year as vice chair, and Franklin S. Bennett Jr. will remain as board secretary.

The board also named Ikram Khawaja as interim president. Khawaja, YSU provost since 2007, will serve from July 1 (the day President Cynthia E. Anderson retires) through July 14. President-elect Randy Dunn assumes the presidency on July 15. Khawaja joined YSU’s faculty in 1968 and served 17 years as chair of the Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences. He also was director of faculty relations and interim dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Meanwhile, the board voted to name the office area of YSU’s student government in Kilcawley Center the Anderson Student Government Suite in recognition of President Anderson. Anderson, who served on student government while attending YSU, is the first Mahoning Valley resident, the first YSU graduate and the first woman to lead the university.

Categories : Campus Core  |  Tags :