Free tax prep program starts Feb. 1

January 10, 2014  |  

VITA 2014Tax season is fast approaching, and so is Youngstown State University’s Volunteer Income Tax Assistance Program.

The Lariccia School of Accounting and Finance in the YSU Williamson College of Business Administration is again working with trained business students and professional volunteers to offer free tax preparation services through the VITA program.

VITA begins Saturday, Feb. 1, and runs through April 12 in computer labs on the first floor of Williamson Hall, 221 Hazel Street between Rayen Avenue and Wood Street on the YSU campus. See below for specific dates and times.

VITA offers free income tax assistance to taxpayers and evaluates credits and deductions for which they may be eligible. Free electronic filing is also available. VITA volunteers must complete an IRS training course and pass certification tests in income tax return preparation before they can assist taxpayers. Taxpayers who visit a VITA site should bring wage and earnings statements (Form W-2) from all employers; interest, dividend and investment/stock sales statements (Forms 1099); a copy of last year’s tax return if available; and other relevant information about income and expenses.

Walk-ins are welcome. To make an appointment or to receive additional information, call the Lariccia School of Accounting and Finance at 330-941-3084.

Saturday, Feb. 1, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 8, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 15, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 17, 3:30 to 6 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 22, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Saturday, March 1, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Saturday, March 8, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Saturday, March 22, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Saturday, April 5, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Saturday, April 12, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.